Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

See Awards Page for Details

Congratulations To The 2023 Cycle 2 JSJA Winners!

Posted January 18, 2024

John Stites Jazz Award


The Board of the John Stites Jazz Artist Organization is pleased to announce the 2023 Cycle 2 John Stites Jazz Award winners. The JSJAO hopes prospective applicants will be inspired by these projects to apply for a 2024 award. We have made significant changes to the 2024 award process, which will allow us to focus on advancing the careers of innovative established and emerging jazz musicians. Please see the Awards page for more details.

The applications were scored by an independent Review Committee composed of professional jazz musicians with national and international experience. JSJA has awarded over $280,000 in the last 4 years. The 2024 Award cycle begins on February 15. JSJA plans to award an additional $50,000 to another group of outstanding applicants in September 2024. Information on the 2024 award timeline is available on our website. If you have questions, please submit them by using the Contact form.

The Board of the JSJAO thanks all the applicants for their participation. We encourage anyone with an idea that supports professional exceptionalism in jazz music to apply.

« Back to News Archive

John was kind and patient with great attention to details. He loved good music of all sorts...

Joel Mabus

The John Stites Jazz Awards (JSJA) are funded by the John Stites Jazz Artist Organization.

The organization funds advanced studies for emerging and established professional jazz musicians, as well as personal development projects which enhance their career opportunities.