Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

Apply Now - Cycle 2 Deadline is MIdnight September 15!
2022Winners ReSurgence

2022 Cycle 2 Award Winner Chuck Owen and ReSurgence

Posted April 16, 2023

Chuck Owen and ReSurgence are deeply honored to be the recipients of a John Stites Jazz Award and excited to embark on our 2-week mid-west tour of concerts and residencies next November (2023) where we’ll share some brand-new music, reach out to new communities, and get to work with aspiring (and, undoubtedly, inspiring!) young musicians. ReSurgence is a septet largely culled from the multi-Grammy nominated Jazz Surge big band (although augmented by the marvelous vocalist, Kate McGarry). While rooted in the jazz tradition, this band’s hallmark is its unique sound that embraces facets of American folk/roots music, rock, contemporary classical, and many other styles. The group (all experienced jazz educators) adheres to the belief that audience development is driven most readily by intimate, transformative experiences, a sense of connection to the artists involved, understanding of the creative process, and by developing a community that is welcoming and fun! We can’t wait to see you in November!!

Submitted by Chuck Owen

« Back to News Archive

This world needs more of him, not less.

Ray Kamalay

The John Stites Jazz Awards (JSJA) are funded by the John Stites Jazz Artist Organization, honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music.

The organization funds:

  • Advanced studies for emerging and established professional jazz musicians
  • Concerts, competitions and projects that expand jazz audiences and the appreciation of jazz in or near communities in the Midwest