Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

Honoring the memory of John Stites and his passion for jazz music

See Awards Page for Details
John Stites Jazz Awards

2021 John Stites Jazz Award Winners Announcement

Posted December 29, 2021

The Board of the John Stites Jazz Artist Organization is pleased to announce the 2021 John Stites Jazz Award winners:

The applications were scored by an independent Review Committee composed of professional jazz musicians with national and international experience. The winning projects were diverse in scope and truly outstanding. They exemplified John’s commitment to maintaining a high standard of excellence, while bringing something unique to the musical community.

The JSJA awarded over $60,000 in 2021. Applicants who did not win are encouraged to revise and submit their applications for consideration during the 2022 award cycles. The JSJA plans to award up to $100,000 to another group of outstanding applicants in 2022. Information on the 2022 award cycles will be available on the JSJA website sometime in late January/early February.

The Board of the JSJAO thanks all the applicants for their participation in the inaugural JSJA award cycle and we look forward to receiving the 2022 submissions. We encourage anyone with an idea that supports professional exceptionalism in jazz music, expands public awareness and appreciation of jazz music, or offers performance events or projects that bring jazz experiences to the community to apply.

Doug Decker
Tom Knific
Bill McCarty
Ken Morgan
Sandy Schaefer

« Back to News Archive

This world needs more of him, not less.

Ray Kamalay

The John Stites Jazz Awards (JSJA) are funded by the John Stites Jazz Artist Organization.

The organization funds advanced studies for emerging and established professional jazz musicians, as well as personal development projects which enhance their career opportunities.